Skip to content

Mint and Basil

September 2, 2010

I finally got around to growing something edible this year, after spending most of our gardening efforts on establishing our perennial beds this year (I’ll post on that later). But in keeping with the previous post, let’s stick with food.

I have three pots of basil going and two of mint. I’ve been regularly harvesting the basil, so have some in the freezer ready for winter already (it’s semi-processed with a bit of oil, so will make an easy pesto), and had almost enough to make pesto (using a fantastic vegan recipe from one of my all-time favorite cookbooks) for 8 dinner guests last week (I did have to supplement just a tad). I’m looking forward to making nana-style tea with the mint, and want to try a pea and mint dip as well (although I’ll try substituting some nutritional yeast instead of the parm. It’ll be an experiment!). Other than that, I need to learn how to cook with mint, since beyond lamb (which as a veggie I don’t eat anymore), I have few ideas.

So, this is only a tiny, tiny start to my goal of producing more of our own food, but it is a start, especially for a city girl who’s rarely had a backyard before now. I’m looking forward to doing more next year, but will only add on a bit at a time — I think this is a case of slow and steady wins the course, instead of overloading myself so that I get burnt out!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

