Skip to content

“I Brake for Wildlife”

February 13, 2013

Image

I snapped this picture near Dupont Circle the other day, as I thought the message (both intended and unintended) was really interesting. Obviously this is meant to be a humorous take on the “I Brake for Wildlife” bumper stickers, but does it imply something else? That “real” wildlife can be found in the National Zoo, but not on DC streets? I wonder if the humor wouldn’t be quite as apparent without that implicit dualism (wildlife and cities don’t mix).

Or have I been wearing my social scientist hat for too long? Totally possible!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mark L permalink
    March 1, 2013 6:24 am

    Yep, take your hat off….I didn’t see it as anything other than breaking for wildlife (the urban kind). BTW, I live in Alabama in an area surrounded by a state park, which is overpopulated by deer. If I don’t brake for wildlife, I have a bad day and my insurance goes up. Hence, coyotes are an asset to me too (or anything else to thin the herd).

Leave a Reply

