Skip to content

Art and Nature

December 10, 2015

 

Tony_Bennett_in_2003

Tony Bennett, copyright Tom Beetz, 2003 (via Wikimedia Commons)

This is a large topic, and one that I could spend a long time talking about (and certainly plan on talking about more). But I wanted to quickly share this lovely article in the New York Times about NYC’s Central Park and singer Tony Bennett. I didn’t know this, but he’s quite the painter — he’s been painting since he was a young child, and once thought that he’d have a career as a visual artist instead of as a musician. Central Park is his daily inspiration and a break from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. As he tells the author of the article, Alex Vadukul, “I live in the city…but when I enter the park I’m in the forest.”

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 11, 2015 12:24 am

    Compelling is how I would read the link between artist and his love of the park. – capturing the essence of nature. I enjoyed reading the article.

Leave a Reply

